Awards & Recognition

AWMAC’s President’s Award honours active members, staff/contractors or recognized affiliates of AWMAC.

2023 RECIPIENT – Carlo DeFrancesco

Details coming soon.

2019 RECIPIENT – Frank VanDonzel

The Architectural Woodwork Manufacturers Association of Canada (AWMAC) was pleased to honour Frank VanDonzel with the President’s Award at the 2019 AWMAC National Convention, which took place in Victoria, British Columbia, in May of 2019.

AWMAC Immediate Past President Larry White was on hand to present Frank with the award, which for the 2019 year, is in its second year.

“Frank always wore the core AWMAC values on his sleeve and still does to this day. He was presented the award for his unwavering commitment to AWMAC and its brand,” said White.

The AWMAC President’s Award is given to active members, staff or contractors or recognized affiliates of AWMAC and is done so at the discretion of the President.

Frank, who joined the AWMAC Southern Alberta Chapter back in the early 1980s and was in the architectural woodwork business in Calgary, served as the AWMAC Secretary and then the National Association Manager. He was known for his love of the industry, as well as the promotion of the core AWMAC values. Although now retired, he still attends many AWMAC functions giving his support.

“Frank VanDonzel was the pioneer of creating structure and guidance to making AWMAC the voice for architectural woodwork in Canada,” said White. “Frank became known as, “Mr. AWMAC,” always waiving and promoting the integrity and peace of mind that could be given when specifying AWMAC projects,” White added.



The first recipient of AWMAC’s new President’s Award was announced at the 2018 National Convention by President Larry White. Larry shared with the congregation that he met the recipient during his early experiences on the board and that he “came to gain great respect for this gentleman with his philosophical approach”. Larry went on to share that the recipient of the President’s Award formed AWMAC’s GIS Committee in 2001; chaired the committee in 2001 through 2003 and then again from 2014-2018 for a total of 7 years. Larry then announced the recipient - Mr. Jim Taylor.

Jim’s dedication to AWMAC throughout the years is commendable (to the least).

Jim was key to the first GIS Policy and Procedures Manual in 2002, along with the major revision in 2017. He has been the driving force in raising the level of, and in standardizing the GIS Program across Canada; because of Jim, the program has grown in leaps and bounds and has become the primary revenue stream for many of AWMAC’s Chapters and National.

Jim was also the lead behind the development of the ICQ, MSQ and the MSQ update.

Jim has (and continues to) contributed greatly to the creation of both the AWS and NAAWS manuals, as well as numerous findings and determinations therein.

Infinite Possibilities was the theme of this year’s convention. Jim Taylor shows us just that – through sharing of ideas, volunteering, and sharing of best practices, AWMAC has infinite possibilities to reach our vision of becoming the architectural woodwork industry authority in Canada.

2019 RECIPIENT – Executive Millwork

Project: Central Library | Calgary, Alberta

The Architectural Woodwork Manufacturers Association of Canada (AWMAC) was pleased to present its first-ever National Guarantee and Inspection Service (GIS) award to Executive Millwork, for its work on the recently completed new Central Library in Calgary, Alberta.

The award was presented at the 2019 AWMAC National Convention, which took place in Victoria, British Columbia, in May of 2019.

“The winning project this year is an example of not only the level of quality that AWMAC is proud to showcase its members as being capable of, but also represents a project where the fundamental steps and GIS processes were followed diligently to marvellous effect,” said Nick Anastas, GIS Director for the AWMAC Ontario Chapter and National GIS Chair who presented the award.

The GIS mandate is to ensure that the quality of materials and workmanship of the specified architectural woodwork complies with the AWMAC’s quality standards manual. The principle ideology of the GIS program is the standardization of woodwork quality and compliance, as well as policy and procedures.

All of the eight provincial AWMAC chapters presented a recently completed GIS project as their nominee. Anastas notes that it took a remarkable amount of deliberation by the national GIS committee to determine the vital standardized components for judging a project. Overall, submissions were assessed on their overall quality and “wow” factor, the quality of drawings, attention to details in the finished product, as well as adherence to processes and communications with the client, chapter and inspector.

“This project features extensive wood elements throughout, with both modern styling and extreme complexity,” commented Anastas. “The finished installation exhibits extraordinary attention to detail, skillful planning and pre-production experience, quality craftsmanship and handwork, and intelligent communication with the designer and shop,” added Anastas.

Executive Millwork, who are members of AWMAC’s Southern Alberta Chapter, collaborated with DIALOG as the architects and designers, with Stuart Olson serving as the General Contractors for the project.

AWMAC proudly presents the Outstanding Service Award for exemplary efforts in passionately promoting the goals and visions of AWMAC. Past recipients include:

  • 1985 - Harry Hummelshoj
  • 1985 - Bob Newman
  • 1985 - Gerry Schmidtke
  • 1988 - Allan Fox
  • 1989 - Syd Thomson
  • 1991 - Jack Russell
  • 2006 - Gary Nikolai
  • 2007 - Jim Taylor
  • 2008 - Frank and Joanne VanDonzel
  • 2009 - Don Afansiff
  • 2010 - Ernst Salzgeber
  • 2011 - Harm Hazeu
  • 2012 - Vince Parolin
  • 2013 - Myron Jonzon
  • 2014 - Martin Boutet
  • 2015 - Rob Gustafson - Woodwork Institute
  • 2016 - Scott McVittie
  • 2022 - Moira Rowan

AWMAC National Contest for Students and Apprentices in Cabinetmaking


The National Contest consists of students, apprentices and recent graduates that are enrolled or have recently graduated from a recognized post-secondary institutions cabinet
making program.

The winning cabinet in each participating Chapter is sent to the Judging Committee for selection of a National winner. The first, second and third place winners receive a cash award, a tool credit, and an award to be presented by their Chapter.

The first contest was held in 2002, making this the 21st year of the contest. The cabinets were displayed at the 2023 AWMAC National Convention in Toronto. Congratulations to all the participants.

Thank you to all the Chapters, judges and volunteers that made this year’s contest a success. Thank you to the suppliers who donated materials for the contest.




In business, trust is everything. At AWMAC, we believe you build that trust by having a standard for all manufacturing activities. Becoming an AWMAC Member gives you that and more. AWMAC has differing membership categories, each offering a unique range of benefits to suit your requirements. Manufacturer Membership, Associate Membership and Life Membership is available in all Chapters across Canada.

Learn more